Buddhist TemplesBuddhist TemplesBuddhist Temples
History of Buddhism Buddhist Religion Gautam Buddha Buddhist Pilgrimage Site
This article provides information about Buddhism/Buddhist four noble truths or the truths of Buddhism religion.

Buddhism Four Noble Truths

The Four Noble Truths of Buddhism summarize the essence of the teachings of Buddha. In the following lines, we will tell you about the Four Noble Truths of Buddhism in detail...

The Noble Truth of Suffering (Dukkha)
The First Noble Truth is the Truth of suffering or dukkha. Suffering includes physical, emotional and mental forms of suffering. However, on a more generic basis, it can also be interpreted as a feeling of dissatisfaction. The Truth states that any happiness that we receive in life will not last forever. Old age, sickness and inevitably death are inevitable and cannot be avoided. In the scriptures, suffering is defined according to the following categories: Birth, Decay, Death, Sorrow, Lamentation, Pain, Grief and Despair. Also, not getting what one desires has also been defined as suffering.

The Noble Truth of the Origin of Suffering (Samudaya)
The Second Noble Truth is the Truth of the origin of suffering. Also known as Samudaya, it says that craving or tanha (literally 'thirst') is the reason for suffering. Put plainly, it is our constant craving for what is pleasurable in what we see, hear, smell, taste, touch and think, which leads us to suffering. Throughout our life, we are constantly driven by our desire for pleasant sensations. When we cannot get these pleasant sensations, as is usually the case, we feel frustrated, dissatisfied. In other words, we suffer. The subtle forms of craving comprise of a longing for fame, wealth, recognition, so on and so forth.

The Noble Truth of the Cessation of Suffering (Nirodha)
The Third Noble Truth refers to Truth of the cessation of suffering. It says that suffering can be brought to an end through Nirodha. Nirodha means the unmaking of sensual yearning and attachment. It is the state in which one does not crave anymore and with the alleviation of craving, suffering also fades. It is a permanent state of peace, in which there is greed, hatred and delusion. It is the freedom from all worries, troubles, complexes, fabrications and ideas. With Nirvana, the round of rebirths comes to an end.

The Noble Truth that leads to the Extinction of Suffering (Magga)
The Fourth Noble Truth is the Truth the leads to the extinction of suffering. Also known as Magga, it provides us with the Noble Eightfold Path. The factors included in the Eightfold Path consist of right understanding, right thought, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness and right concentration.

Contact Our Tour Planner
Tour Style:
Requirements & Travel Plan:
Your Contact Information
* Mandatory fields